Kelli-Leigh Returns to No.1 with I Wanna Feel

#ChartFact #House Yes, you’re absolutely right – it is Toni Braxton’s 1996 song ‘You’re Makin’ Me High’ that you constantly hear on the radio. And, yes – it’s the same singer who brought you Duke Damont’s ‘I Got You.’ Introducing Kelli-Leigh, the vocalist on SecondCity’s UK No.1 ‘I Wanna Feel.’

Kelli-Leigh is a songer/songwriter who introduced her first EP back in November 2011. As a session singer, she has provided backing vocals for Adele’s ’21’ tour as well as working with Leona Lewis.

Back to SecondCity, the Anglo-American DJ Rowan Harrington was born in Chicago back in 1987. In an interview with, he says “I can’t believe my single, ‘I Wanna Feel,’ has gone to Number 1.” To date, ‘I Wanna Feel’ has sold more than 82,000 copies to take the No.1 spot.

Toni Braxton’s ‘You’re Makin’ Me High’ was originally issued at the end of May 1996. The track was written by Babyface and Bryce Wilson who also produced the single. It was the lead single off Braxton’s sophomore album Secrets, peaking at No.1 on the Billboard Hot 100. It reached No.7 in the UK, which means that Kelli-Leigh bested Braxton’s original peak.

‘You’re Makin’ Me High’ was released as a double-A side single featuring the soundtrack cut ‘Let It Flow’ off the movie Waiting to Exhale. ‘You’re Makin’ Me High’ was followed by ‘Un-Break My Heart’ in October that year.

Check out Kelli-Leigh on Soundcloud and follow @kellileighmusic on Twitter.

Official Singles Chart UK 7/6

  1. SecondCity – I Wanna Feel
  2. Sam Smith – Stay With Me
  3. Klingande – Jubel
  4. Mr. Probz – Waves (Robin Schultz Remix)
  5. Rita Ora – I Will Never Let You Down
  6. John Legend  – All Of Me
  7. Fuse ODG ft Sean Paul – Dangerous Love
  8. Paloma Faith – Only Love Can Hurt Like This
  9. Ellie Goulding – Beating Heart
  10. Calvin Harris – Summer

This Isn’t Everything You Are Next Hit Single for Snow Patrol

Snow Patrol
Snow Patrol back with album

→  Listen to the brand new remix of ‘Called Out in the Dark’!


CHART SPOTLIGHT. I’ve played Snow Patrol’s ‘Called Out in the Dark’ constantly since I blogged about the video. The group’s next single will be ‘This Isn’t Everything You Are’ and will be available on the new set Fallen Empire. Expected to bow on November 14, the album will include fourteen new tracks, blending electro guitar riffs with club friendly drums and Gary Lightbody’s touching lyrics. Gary Lightbody (singer), Nathan Connolly (guitarist), (Paul Wilson (bass), Jonny Quinn (drums) and Tom Simpson (keyboard) recorded the album in Los Angeles together with the producer Garrett ‘Jacknife’ Lee.

Inspired by U2

Fallen Empires is inspired by LCD Soundsystem’s The Sound of Silver, U2’s Achtung Baby and Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs. Despite the great musical variation, Snow Patrol has stuck to its core and this is a strong follow-up to 2008’s A Hundred Million Suns and 2009’s million selling Up to Now. I still think that their classic hit ‘Chasing Cars’ is the best track from Snow Patrol. Not least because it came to new life in Grey’s Anatomy. The Snow Patrol hit ‘Run’ has also been covered by Leona Lewis.


Snow Patrol will tour the UK and Ireland in 2012, and already second shows have been added to the tour.

Read more via WelcheMusic:

Listen to Snow Patrol via Spotify:

Afrojack’s Take Over Control Certified Gold

Afrojack Certified Gold
Afrojack Certified Gold

CHART SPOTLIGHT. Dutch producer and DJ Afrojack just tweeted that his hit single ‘Take Over Control’ went gold in the US. The single, which features Eva Simons on vocals, has sold more than 500,000 copies in the States alone. Originally released in the Netherlands back in August 2010, the track topped the Billboard’s Hot Dance Airplay chart for six consecutive weeks.

A music video signed Alex Herron was shot in L.A., showing Simons as a robotic dancer. As she and her fellow dancers fall out of energy, Afrojack later arrives to plug them in as to continue.


Afrojack only recently returned to the scene as a guest on Pitbull’s ‘Give Me Everyhing’ and WelcheMusic has also highlighted his remix of Leona Lewis’s ‘Collide.’

Read more via WelcheMusic:

David Guetta Switches Mary J. Blige for Sia on ‘Titanium’

Mary J Blige
Mary J Blige

CHART SPOTLIGHT. Mary J. Blige originally recorded the vocals for ‘Titanium,’ the latest UK top twenty hit from French DJ David Guetta. By the looks of it, Australian singer Sia ended up on the final version which bows at No.16 this week. Included on the upcoming set Nothing But the Beat (set for release on Aug. 26), the initial version featuring Blige was leaked recently. With lyrics saying ‘You shoot me down / But I won’t fall / I’m titanium,’ the track will certainly be successful on both radio and dancefloors.

The track was co-written by Giorgio Tuinfort and the Dutch house producer Afrojack, whose remix of Leona Lewis’s ‘Collide’ WelcheMusic covered only yesterday. ‘Titanium’ follows the recent hits ‘Little Bad Girl’ (with Taio Cruz and Ludacris) and ‘Where Them Girls At’ (with Flo Rida and Nicki Minaj).

David Guetta featuring Sia – Titanium

David Guetta ft SIA ”Titanium” by Globalprpool

David Guetta’s original version with Mary J. Blige


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...